• Franklin Community

    mega menu image

    This is an editable field

    Read More
  • Inventing Our Future

    mega menu image

    The City of Franklin is boldly planning to ensure our great City captures the type of growth and economic development that will lead us into the future.

    Read More

Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is the first step in most development projects within the City, and assures that any new development or redevelopment meets the site plan requirements of the Unified Development Ordinance. Planning Commission reviews and makes recommendations to City Council on proposed rezonings, planned unit developments, and all major subdivisions. Planning Commission is also responsible for the review and approval of all conditional use permits, home occupation permits, uses within the Well Field Protection Overlay District and the Telecommunications Overlay District.

The Planning Commission was created by the Franklin City Charter, and consists of seven members. Per the Charter, the Mayor must serve on the Commission, along with another Councilmember appointed by Council. The remaining five members are appointed by Council for four-year terms.


Brent Centers As Mayor, Mr. Centers serves on the Commission as required by Charter
Christine Pirot Ms. Pirot was appointed to the Commission in 2022.
Brian Rebholz Mr. Rebholz was appointed to the Commission in 2024
David Hopper Mr. Hopper was appointed to the Commission in 2007
Paul Ruppert Mr. Ruppert serves on the Commission as Council's representative
Jason T. Hall Mr. Hall was appointed to the Commission in 2021. 
Dr. Sarah Nathan Dr. Nathan was appointed to the Commission in 2024.



The Planning Commission meets on the 2nd Wednesday of each month at 5:30 p.m., provided there is business for its agenda. All meetings are held at the City’s Municipal Building, 1 Benjamin Franklin Way.

Public Hearing & Meeting Notices